Regional Beef Research Committees

NABRC is underpinned by eleven regional committees chaired by producers who represent their regions at NABRC meetings. The regional committees provide grass roots input to NABRC and are at the heart of its continuing success. Regional committees are made up of producers and local RD&E personnel from a wide range of organisations.

Chairs of the regional committees play a key role in developing RD&A priorities for MLA’s annual call for grassfed beef RD&A projects by providing advice relating to:

  • the strategic direction and principal components of the Program;
  • the design and management of RD&A projects, to ensure the full benefit of projects are captured;
  • RD&A funding and expenditure; and
  • communication of results to industry.

What is the role of regional committees?

  • Identify problems and needs that may be solved by research, development, education, extension and training.
  • Assess the relative importance of these identified needs and the potential benefits to the region.
  • Recommend research portfolio distribution at a regional level across providers as an efficient integrated strategy.
  • Assess the resources required for research, and recommend ways in which these may be acquired.
  • Ensure appropriate consideration of the likely impact of any new technology on the local environment in both the short- and long-term.
  • Facilitate the dissemination of research results to the region and to provide feedback on the adoption of new technologies.
  • Monitor the progress of research projects and programs in the region.
  • Provide input to participating organisations to assist with the development and review of strategic plans.
  • Provide input to assist the development of project proposals when necessary.
  • Encourage appropriate training for RBRC members.
  • Report to NABRC on achievements.

Contact your regional committee

If you are a producer and want more information about your local regional committee or to discuss RD&A priorities, select your region from the map to find the contact details for your regional committee Chairman or Secretary.

Central Queensland

Chairman

Swin Hudson
MOURA QLD 4718
Phone: 0428 973 020
Email: swinmh@gmail.com

Secretary

Byrony Daniels
Department of Agriculture and Fisheries
EMERALD QLD 4720
Phone: 07 4991 0867
Mobile: 0427 746 434
Email: byrony.daniels@daf.qld.gov.au

 

North Queensland

Chairman

Michael Lyons
CHARTERS TOWERS QLD 4820
Phone: 07 4787 6689
Mobile: 0409 893 041
Email: mmlyons@bigpond.com

Secretary

Joe Rolfe
DAF
Mareeba Qld 4880
Phone: 07 4048 4881
Mobile: 0427 378 412
Email: joe.rolfe@daf.qld.gov.au

North West Queensland

Chairman

Ian Braithwaite
MT ISA  QLD  4825
Mobile 0409 057 221
Email:  tmbwaite@bigpond.com

Secretary

Lindsey Perry
Department of Agriculture and Fisheries
MAREEBA Q 4880
Phone: 07 4017 0794
Mobile: 04 77 755 243
Email: Lindsey.perry@daf.qld.gov.au

South Queensland

Chairman

Andrew Gray
TEXAS QLD 4385
Phone: 07 4653 1424
Mobile: 0428 531 424
Email: abardotgenetics@activ8.net.au

Secretary

Tracy Longhurst
Department of Agriculture and Fisheries
 TOOWOOMBA QLD 4350
Phone: 07 4688 1244
Mobile: 0427 378 442
Email: tracy.longhurst@daf.qld.gov.au

South-East Queensland

Chairman

Kylie Schooley
Mundubbera Qld 4626
Mobile: 0488 617300
Email: schooley@bigpond.com

Secretary

Damien O’Sullivan
Department of Agriculture and Fisheries
KINGAROY QLD 4610
Phone: 07 4161 3717
Email: damien.osullivan@daf.qld.gov.au

Western Queensland

Chairman

Nina House
ARAMAC  QLD  4726
Phone:  0746 510 512
Email:  nina.house@harboursat.com.au

Secretary

David Phelps
Department of Agriculture and Fisheries
LONGREACH QLD 4730
Phone: 07 4650 1244
Email: David.phelps@daf.qld.gov.au

Barkly Region - NT

Chairman

Ben McGlynn
Camooweal Q 4828
Phone: 07 4748 4966
Email: rocklands@parawaypastoral.com

Secretary

Jane Douglas
Dept of Primary Industry & Fisheries
TENNANT CREEK NT 0861
Phone: 08 8962 4483 or 0427 153 339
Email: jane.douglas@nt.gov.au

Central Australia - NT

Alice Springs Pastoral Advisory Committee & Beef Research Committee (ASPIAC)

Chairman

Nicole Hayes
ALICE SPRINGS NT 0871
Phone: 08 8952 1806
Mobile: 0417 885 710
Email: undoolya@westnet.com.au

Secretary

Chris Materne
NT Dept of Regional Development, Primary Industry, Fisheries and Resources
ALICE SPRINGS NT 0871
Phone: 08 8951 8135
Mobile: 0458 605 883
Email: chris.materne@nt.gov.au

Katherine Region - NT

Chairman

Jay Mohr-Bell
KATHERINE NT 0852
Phone: 08 8975 1106
Email: jay@panchobeef.com

Secretary

Joanna Miller
NT Department of Primary Industry & Fisheries
KATHERINE NT 0851
Phone: 08 8973 9730
Email: joanna.miller@nt.gov.au

 

Kimberley/Pilbara - WA

Pilbara Representative

Kerry (Joe) Paull
NEWMAN  WA  6753
Phone: 08 9175 7047
Mobile: 0417 922 098
Email: kjpaull87@gmail.com

Secretary

Emma White
Kimberley Pilbara Cattlemen’s Association
BROOME WA 6725
Phone: 08 9192 1840
Email: ceo@kpca.net.au

Kimberley Representative

To be appointed.

Email:

Secretary

Emma White
Kimberley Pilbara Cattlemen’s Association
BROOME WA 6725
Phone: 08 9192 1840
Email: ceo@kpca.net.au