NABRC Medals

Launched in 2006, the NABRC Medals are designed to recognise people who have achieved excellence in the fields of Production, Research and Development and Communication/Extension in the beef industry in north Australia, and acknowledge the role of NABRC and its Regional Committees. In 2010 a Young Achiever category was added to recognise the important contribution of our young industry people.

2019 Medals

The sixth round of the popular NABRC Medals.  Four excited winners, surrounded by family, friends and colleagues, were presented with their Medals at a gala dinner in Brisbane on Tuesday 20 August 2019 as part of the Northern Beef Research Update Conference in Brisbane.

Producer – Ross Peatling

Research/Scientist – Rob Dixon

Communicator/Extension – Joe Rolfe

Young Achiever – Ben McGlynn

Photo: NABRC 2019 medal winners – L-R Dr Robert Dixon, Ross Peatling, Ben McGlynn, Joe Rolfe

2016 NABRC Medals

The winners of the 2016 NABRC Medals were announced at a presentation dinner held at the Northern Beef Research Update Conference on Tuesday 16 August 2016 in Rockhampton. Producer: Keith Holzwart, Avago Station, Daly Waters Researcher/Scientist: Dr Brian Burns Young...

read more

2013 NABRC Medals

The winners of the 2013 NABRC Medals were announced at a presentation dinner held at the Northern Beef Research Update Conference on Tuesday 13 August 2013 in Cairns. Producer:  Paul Smith (NT) Researcher/Scientist:  Dr Stu McLennan Communicator/Extension:  John...

read more

2010 NABRC Medals

The winners of the 2010 NABRC Medals were announced at a presentation dinner on Tuesday 3 August 2010 in Brisbane. Producer:  Keith Anderson (WA) Researcher/Scientist:  Dr Richard (Dick) Holroyd Communicator/Extension:  Robert (Bob) Shepherd Young Achiever:  Kieren...

read more

2007/2008 NABRC Medals

The winners of the 2007 NABRC Medals were announced at a presentation dinner on Tuesday 3 August 2010 in Brisbane.Producer:  Tom Mann (Qld) Researcher/Scientist:  Dr Raymond Jones Communicator/Extension:  Bernie English Young Achiever:  Annabelle Coppin   Winners...

read more

2005/2006 Inaugural NABRC Medals

The winners of the 2005/2006 NABRC Medals were announced at a presentation dinner on Tuesday 21 March 2006 in Toowoomba.Producer:  Jim Coulthard (NT) Researcher/Scientist:  Dr Geoffry Fordyce Communicator/Extension:  Peter SmithWinners above pictured L-R John Cox...

read more

More about the 2019 winners  

Highly respected cattleman and industry innovator Ross Peatling formerly of Alexandria Station in the Northern Territory was awarded the prestigious 2019 NABRC Producer Medal at the 2019 Northern Beef Research Update Conference dinner, held in Brisbane on 20 August 2019.

North Australia Beef Research Council chairman Dr Lee Fitzpatrick said Mr Peatling has contributed substantially to the betterment of the northern beef industry for close to 50 years.

“What is particularly notable about Ross Peatling is that he has not sat back and merely copied the innovations of others – rather, he has been a visionary and an early adopter of emerging technologies,” Dr Fitzpatrick said.

“Ross started implementing fertility selection, wet season spelling, evidence-based watered area development and herd segregation in the 1990s, which might seem unremarkable today, but Ross, and others like him, have led the way for wider industry adoption.”

Mr Peatling was appointed Manager of Alexandria Station on the Barkly Tableland, Northern Territory, by the North Australian Pastoral Company (NAPCO) in 1991. Alexandria and its outstations cover more than 16 million hectares and run about 70,000 head of cattle (depending on seasonal conditions). Mr Peatling was Chairman of the Northern Territory Cattlemen’s Association (NTCA) Tennant Creek Branch for three years and President of the NTCA from 1999–2001. In March 2014, Ross was awarded Life Membership of the NTCA.

MEDIA: Blazing Trails in Northern Beef  

Ben McGlynn, manager of Rocklands Station near Camooweal in northern Queensland, received the 2019 NABRC Young Achiever Medal.

Dr Fitzpatrick said the future of the northern beef industry was assured with young producers of the calibre of Ben McGlynn.

“Ben has progressed from jackaroo to what I would describe as the business manager of a large corporate station,” Dr Fitzpatrick said.

“He is currently developing and implementing a massive infrastructure development plan for Rocklands involving more strategic fences and waters and a breeder segregation program which will result in more rangelands rested and rotated and cattle having access to a better forage base.

“Ben is an active member of the Barkly beef community and provides input on R&D priorities for his region at NABRC, and collaborates with researchers on projects such as the Northern Genomics Project and a CRC project introducing legumes in the northern grazing system.”

The NABRC Medals are designed to highlight the achievements of people who have achieved excellence in the fields of production, research and development and communication in North Australia.

Two other NABRC Medals were awarded at the 2019 update conference dinner.

Dr Rob Dixon’s internationally recognised expertise in ruminant nutrition and his significant contribution to northern Australian production systems earned him the 2019 NABRC Scientist/Researcher Medal.

Dr Dixon, a Senior Research Fellow at the Queensland Alliance for Agriculture and Food Innovation, a University of Queensland research institute supported by the Department of Agriculture and Fisheries, has made a significant contribution to managing the impacts of cattle grazing the extensive rangelands of northern Australia.

“Rob is recognised as a leader in the field of ruminant nutrition and his focus is to use this knowledge to develop better practical solutions for industry problems,” Dr Fitzpatrick said.

Queensland Department of Agriculture and Fisheries (DAF) extension officer, Joe Rolfe, based in Mareeba, was awarded the 2019 NABRC Communicator/Extension Medal.

“Through a 29 year career with the Department, Joe has excelled in the extension field and shown dedication and commitment to the northern beef industry,” Dr Fitzpatrick said.

“Joe’s leadership and knowledge of industry needs, combined with an ability to form lasting relationships with funding bodies has ensured the beef team have delivered to industry. Joe empowers producers, work colleagues, friends and community groups through his active listening, caring, valuing everyone’s input and striving for continuous improvement.”